Back Print

28 Decorah HS students earn AP Honors--the most ever

Posted: Mon, Sep 2, 2013 9:01 PM

28 students at Decorah High School have earned AP Scholar Awards in recognition of their exceptional achievement on Advanced Placement (AP) Exams for the 2013 session. This is the most in school history--14 more than the 2011 testing session and five more than the 2012 session.

Three of the Decorah HS students--Jacob Drost, Eric Fulsaas, and Noah Klammer--earned the "AP Scholar with Distinction" recognition. This honors students who receive an average score of 3.5 or greater on all AP Exams and score a 3 (the passing score) on five or more tests.  achieved this honor.

Five of the Decorah HS students--Lucas Blekeberg, Claire Breitenstein, Mitchell Burggraf, Tyler Hovey, and Thomas Knobbe--qualified for the "AP Scholar with Honor" award by earning an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams.

The remaining 20 students earned the "AP Scholar Award" by completing three or more exams with scores of 3 or higher. They were Emily Alcock, Kirsten Arneson, Aubrey Ellickson, Noreen Gentry, Nick Gossling, Madison Grimm, Hans Holkesvik, Peter Kephart, Jacob Kvale, Patrick Larson, Anna Madrigal, McKinleigh McCabe, Kieran Okerstrom, James Ostlie, Ashley Peterson, Drew Schwartz, Jacob Stock, Dylan Stoddard Henning, Bradley Suhr, and Ian Wold.

Decorah students earned a passing score on over 140 AP exams in the spring of 2013.